Texas State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Texas Dept. of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado, PO Box 12157
Austin, Texas 78701
Phone: (512) 463-6599; (800
Fax: (512) 475-2871
License Type Required:
School Hours Required:
Home Salons Legal?
Mobile Salons Legal?
Yes effective January 2008
Reciprocity/Licensure By Endorsement:
Another state or country that has standards or work experience substantially equivalent to Texas.
English, Spanish, Vietnamese for written and practical.
Owners are required to have a salon license but are not required to be licensed cosmetologists
Number Of Hours: 8 per renewal period
License Renewal: Every 2 years
Is Skin Cutting Allowed?
Formal education: seventh grade or equivalent. Must be at least 17 years old.
MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them directly.