Tennessee State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Tennessee State Board of Cosmetology
500 James Robertson Pkwy., Room 130
Nashville, Tennessee 37243-0565
Phone: (615) 741-2515; (800
Fax: (615) 741-6470
License Type Required:
School Hours Required:
Home Salons Legal?
Mobile Salons Legal?
Yes in a nursing home, hospital, funeral establishment, or physically disabled person’s residence
Reciprocity/Licensure By Endorsement:
Must meet required classroom hours or provide a five-year work history. State Board requires an NIC theory and practical exam.
Must have licensed manicurist, at least 18 years old, who will serve as manager of the shop.
Number Of Hours: n/a
License Renewal: Date of issuance, every 2 years
Is Skin Cutting Allowed?
MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them directly.