South Dakota State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
South Dakota Cosmetology Commission
500 E. Capitol
Pierre, South Dakota 57501
Phone: (605) 773-6193
Fax: (605) 773-7175
License Type Required:
School Hours Required:
Home Salons Legal?
Mobile Salons Legal?
Reciprocity/Licensure By Endorsement:
All states with equal requirements and passage of NIC theory and practical examinations; applicants may add work experience hours (ratio of 2:1 hours of education) for up to 200 hours.
Must have salon or booth license and a manager licensee in charge.
Number Of Hours: 8 hours in electric drill training
License Renewal: Birth date, annually
Is Skin Cutting Allowed?
MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them directly.