New York State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
New York Department of State, Division of Licensing Services
80 S. Swan St., 10th Flr., PO Box 22001
Albany, New York 12208
Phone: (518) 474-4429
Fax: (518) 473-6648
License Type Required:
School Hours Required:
Home Salons Legal?
Mobile Salons Legal?
Yes but licensee must hold an appearance enhancement business license or be employed by one
Reciprocity/Licensure By Endorsement:
Must provide evidence of compliance with current state’s licensing standards, which are not lower than NY’s (providing that such state extends similar reciprocity to NY licensees) or satisfactory evidence that the applicant has practiced for a minimum of 5 years.
English, but translation may be requested.
Must have appearance enhancement business license for services provided.
Number Of Hours: n/a
License Renewal: Date of issuance, every 2 years
Is Skin Cutting Allowed?
MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them directly.