Maryland State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Maryland State Board of Cosmetologists
500 N. Calvert Street, 3rd Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21202-3651
Phone: (410) 230-6320
Fax: (410) 333-6314
License Type Required:
School Hours Required:
250 or 8 months of apprenticeship
Home Salons Legal?
Mobile Salons Legal?
Yes yes, only if person is confined to residence because of physical or mental infirmity
Reciprocity/Licensure By Endorsement:
With valid license, equal or greater training and testing. (Maryland grants reciprocity to those individuals who hold a license from a State whose requirements are the same as or greater than those of Maryland's.)
English (may use pre-approved word-for-word dictionary).
Salon owner’s license required.
Number Of Hours: N/A
License Renewal: Issuance date, every 2 years
Is Skin Cutting Allowed?
Must be at least 17 years of age and have completed 9th grade or G.E.D. Applicant must submit proof of completion of at least 250 hours of training in a cosmetology school or 8 months as a registered apprentice in a licensed beauty salon.
Apprentice Nail Technician
(Limited to 1 one-year original license)
Must complete an application and sponsorship form which must be signed by a licensed senior cosmetologist or 2 year licensed nail technician and salon owner. Must complete 8 months of training with at least 30 hours per week. Licensees are required to mail monthly training reports to the Board each month.
MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them directly.