Kentucky State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Kentucky State Board of Hairdressers & Cosmetologists
http://No Website Available
111 St. James Ct. #A
Frankfort, Kentucky 40601
Phone: (502) 564-4262
Fax: (502) 564-0481
License Type Required:
School Hours Required:
Home Salons Legal?
Mobile Salons Legal?
Reciprocity/Licensure By Endorsement:
No - Any applicant from out-of-state who holds a valid license and can show proof of 2 years current experience can take the cosmetology practical examination for licensing in Kentucky. The applicant must also meet the minimum requirements from above.
Must be licensed nail technician to manage nail salon, licensed cosmetologist for beauty salon.
Number Of Hours: 6 per renewal period
License Renewal: July, annually
Is Skin Cutting Allowed?
All applicants must have completed at least 2 years of high school or its equivalent and be at least 16 years of age.
MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them directly.