Iowa State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Iowa Board of Cosmetology Examiners Dept. of Public Health/Professional Licensure
321 E. 12th St. Lucas Bldg., 5th Floor
Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0075
Phone: (515) 281-7689
Fax: (515) 281-3121
License Type Required:
School Hours Required:
425 for Nail Technologist
Home Salons Legal?
Mobile Salons Legal?
Yes Mobile visits permitted as long as do not account for more than 49% of services per week.
Reciprocity/Licensure By Endorsement:
Each application looked at on an individual basis; must have license in another jurisdiction and have been licensed for at least 12 of the past 24 months.
Must have a salon license
Number Of Hours: N/A
License Renewal: March 31, every 2 years
Is Skin Cutting Allowed?
According to Iowa law, in order for a person to receive a cosmetology license (cosmetology, nail tech, esthetician, manicurist), they MUST show proof of a high school diploma or GED. They MUST have graduated from a Cosmetology school and show proof of a diploma from that school.
Reciprocity: Iowa does NOT have "reciprocity" with any state. People from certain states can apply for licensure by "endorsement" only if they have taken a "National" exam. Not all states use a national exam. Some only use a "State" exam.
MMA has been prohibited in one manner or another in this state.
Prohibited can mean:
A law or rule has been passed prohibiting MMA use.
The technician and/or shop will receive a written/verbal warning possibly after a consumer complaint or inspection by state officials.
A fine may be accessed if a violation occurs.
The state abides by the FDA guidelines.
Please see the state's web site for more specific information and/or contact them directly.