Georgia State Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
Georgia State Board of Cosmetology
237 Coliseum Dr.
Macon, Georgia 31217
Phone: (478) 207-2440
Fax: (478) 207-1442
License Type Required:
School Hours Required:
Home Salons Legal?
Mobile Salons Legal?
Yes Mobile Salon soley to serve physically disabled persons in their homes
Reciprocity/Licensure By Endorsement:
Where similar reciprocity is extended to Georgia and where licensure requirements are substantially equal to those in Georgia.
Reciprocity denied to licensees from CA, CT, DC, FL, IL, OR, MI, NY, Puerto Rico, and SC.
Translators are not permitted
Must ensure licensed person is in salon during business hours
Number Of Hours: 5 hours per renewal period
License Renewal: Aug. 31, odd years
Is Skin Cutting Allowed?
Applicants must be at least 17 years of age and of good moral character.
Reciprocity: The Georgia State Board of Barbers and Georgia State Board of Cosmetology reciprocity requirements are according to O.C.G.A. 43-10-9, which states that reciprocity may be extended to licensees from other states and countries that have similar training and licensing requirements and will extend reciprocity to Georgia licensees. Out of country applicants’ training will be reviewed by the board and applicants may be required to take the written and practical examination. The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology does not reciprocate with California, Florida, Hawaii or New York. For all other states, reciprocity will be granted or denied on an individual basis in accordance with the law.
The Georgia State Board of Barbers has "Endorsement," and therefore, will accept licensees from other states with similar licensure requirements and having no disciplinary action against their license. The Georgia State Board of Barbers does not endorse licenses from Alabama, California, Washington, D.C., Hawaii, Nevada, Washington or Oklahoma. For all other states, endorsement will be granted or denied on an individual basis in accordance with the law.
As of July 1, 2000 all techs must get 10 hours of continuing Education in
order to renew the license. Unless if the license is 30 years active.
Mailing Address: PO Box 13446, Macon, GA 31208-3858